Rebuilding Macroeconomics has an Advisory Group of past policy makers, representatives from the UK’s three major macroeconomic policy institutions, academia, business and other stakeholders. The group has full access and oversight of how funds are disbursed. They are also asked to comment on whether Rebuilding Macroeconomics funds are allocated to new, fresh, ambitious and necessarily risky projects as intended.

Eric Lonergan (Chair), Fund Manager, M & G Investments

Professor Wendy Carlin, Professor of Economics at UCL; and Leader of the CORE project

Professor Jagjit S. Chadha, Director, National Institute of Economic and Social Research


Professor Wouter Den Haan, Professor of Economics, London School of Economics and Political Science

Megan Greene, Chief Economist, John Hancock Financial Services / Manulife Asset Management

Paul Johnson, Director, Institute of Fiscal Studies

Carolina Alves, Joan Robinson Research Fellow in Heterodox Economics, Girton College, University of Cambridge


Professor Anand Menon, Professor of European Politics and Foreign Affairs, King’s College London; and Project Director for ‘UK in a changing Europe’

Rain Newton-Smith, Chief Economist, CBI

Professor Silvana Tenreyro, Professor Economics, London School of Economics and Political Science; and External Member of the Monetary Policy Committee, Bank of England

Dr Geoff Tily, Senior Macroeconomist, TUC

Romesh Vaitilingam MBE, Centre for Economic Performance, London School of Economics and Political Science; and Media Consultant for the Royal Economic Society

The Rt. Hon. the Lord Darling of Roulanish, former Chancellor of the Exchequer

Victoria Chick, Emeritus Professor of Economics, University College London

Torsten Bell, Chief Executive, Resolution Foundation